Skip to main navigation.

Flatt Lonesome to perform at 2018 Annual Meeting

            Claiborne Electric General Manager and CEO Mark Brown is pleased to announce that  acclaimed bluegrass group Flatt Lonesome will be the featured entertainment at Claiborne Electric’s 2018 Annual Membership Meeting, which will be held Saturday, April 28, in Ruston.

            The Annual Meeting will take place at the Thomas Assembly Center on the campus of Louisiana Tech University. Doors will open for registration at 9 a.m., and Flatt Lonesome will take the stage to perform at 10:30 a.m.

            “Every year, our members let us know that they enjoy the wholesome, family-friendly entertainment we provide at Annual Meeting,” Brown said. “Some of the most popular acts we have hosted in the last several years have been bluegrass groups, so we believe Flatt Lonesome will fit the bill perfectly for our meeting.”

            Since their debut in 2011, Flatt Lonesome has enjoyed a nearly unprecedented trip to place them among America’s elite bluegrass acts.

            Bluegrass Today has called them "the sort of band bluegrass needs right now" and says their brand of original bluegrass is "some of the freshest our genre has been offered in a while." Stellar picking and heartfelt songs centered around beautiful sibling harmony have made Flatt Lonesome a hit among bluegrass fans both young and old. Their vibrant, youthful spirit with careful respect toward tradition has earned the praise of peers twice their age.

            Mature beyond their years both musically and professionally, Flatt Lonesome has already reached success levels comparable to bands that have been playing for decades. Their whirlwind ride has included an array of awards from the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) and Society for the Preservation of Bluegrass Music of America (SPBGMA), releasing four successful albums, being heard on bluegrass radio across the country and around the world, and playing some of the biggest bluegrass events on the continent.

            Flatt Lonesome band members Kelsi, Buddy, and Charli Robertson began performing as youngsters alongside their parents in the gospel group Sandy Creek Revival. As the Robertson siblings grew and the band’s schedule became more demanding, their parents encouraged the talented siblings to go out on their own and pursue their dreams. Kelsi Robertson Harrigill (mandolin), Buddy Robertson (guitar), and Charli Robertson (fiddle) founded Flatt Lonesome in 2011 along with neighbor, Dominic Illingworth (bass) and longtime friend, Michael Stockton (dobro). Paul Harrigill (banjo) joined in early 2012. After the band’s debut at the 2011 SPBGMA Band Competition, where they took third place, interest began growing in these young bluegrass performers from Callahan, FL.

            The buzz only grew as Flatt Lonesome returned to and won the competition in 2012. The group released a self-titled debut album in early 2013 and drew high acclaim from both critics and fans. The album's opening track, "You'll Get No More of Me" scored the band their first number-one hit. The band followed up their successful premiere with “Too,” released in July 2014 on Mountain Home Records. Flatt Lonesome's sophomore album debuted in the Top 5 on Billboard's Bluegrass Album charts and produced eight charting singles across four major radio charts, with "So Far" reaching number one in the fall of 2014.

            Flatt Lonesome also won their first IBMA award in 2014, being named Emerging Artists of the Year at the IBMA Awards Show in Raleigh, NC. The major success of their second release was soon eclipsed by the overwhelming enthusiasm surrounding Flatt Lonesome’s third album, “Runaway Train,” released in October 2015.

            “Runaway Train” highlighted the band’s evolution into a bluegrass powerhouse. The album featured seven original compositions, including the band’s first recorded instrumental. The release also showcased tasteful renditions of songs from the catalogs of Gram Parsons, Merle Haggard, and Dwight Yoakam. “Runaway Train” received Album of the Year honors at the 42nd Annual SPBGMA Awards in early 2016. At the same awards show, Flatt Lonesome was named Vocal Group of the Year, and the album’s smash hit, “You’re The One” was also name Song of the Year. The song reached number one multiple times on the bluegrass charts, and was one of the most-played bluegrass songs in the country in 2016.

            In the fall of 2017, Flatt Lonesome emerged from the studio with their latest album, “Silence In These Walls.” The album showcases how this band of six awe-inspiring musicians dug deep into a well of emotion to create expressive vocal and instrumental performances. The increasingly sophisticated songwriting and inventive arrangements demonstrate that with a clear sense of direction, these young artists keep raising the bar on their own creative game.

            In 2017, the group was named SPBGMA’s Vocal Group of the Year, Bluegrass Band of the Year, and Charli Robertson was named Female Vocalist of the Year. The group has also become a familiar act on the stage of the historic Grand Ole Opry. After making their Opry debut in August 2015, which they called a dream come true, they have made several Opry appearances to rave reviews. Their performances have received the praise of artists such as Vince Gill, Steve Wariner, Connie Smith, Josh Turner, and Lauren Alaina.

            While Flatt Lonesome is comprised of top-notch musicians, the hallmark of their sound is their stunning vocal ability, and their albums feature plenty of creative vocal arrangements and heart-stopping harmonies to excite any fan. From the moment of their debut, it’s been clear that Flatt Lonesome is a musical force to be reckoned with. Four successful albums, Billboard chart-topping songs, a demanding tour schedule, and a constant cloud of media attention all combine in testimony to the phenomenon that is Flatt Lonesome.

            Flatt Lonesome’s performance at the 2018 Annual Meeting is free and open to the members of Claiborne Electric. During registration, members will receive a gift from the Co-op and be entered to win the grand prize Kawasaki Mule 4x4 utility vehicle, along with many other door prizes. Everyone will receive lunch courtesy of Claiborne Electric.

          The business meeting will begin at noon and will include drawings for two college scholarships, all door prizes and the grand prize. Members must be present to win prizes.

            Annual Meeting is an event exclusively for the members of Claiborne Electric Cooperative. Members with questions can contact the Co-op at 318.927.3504 or 318.368.3011.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo