Skip to main navigation.

Nominations open for district elections

Nominations are now open for the election of three (3) members of Claiborne Electric Cooperative’s Board of Directors, including districts 2, 4, and 5 - as highlighted in the map below.

Article IV, Section 4 of Claiborne Electric’s bylaws reads as follows:

“Section 4. Nomination

Any three (3) members living within a district and acting together, may make a nomination in writing not less than 45 days nor more than 90 days prior to the meeting and the secretary shall post such nominations at the principal office of the Cooperative in both Union and Claiborne Parishes. If only one nomination is submitted, the Board of Directors will declare the nominated candidate as the winner and may choose not to hold a meeting. If no nominations are submitted, the seat will be considered a vacancy and will be handled according to Article IV, Section 6 of these bylaws.”

Nomination petitions must be submitted by close of business on Wednesday, October 17, 2018. If more than one nomination is submitted for districts 2, 4, or 5, elections will take place at district meetings held Saturday, December 1, 2018 in or near those districts. The November issue of Louisiana Country will have all information concerning district meetings and elections.

How directors are elected

Claiborne Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit organization, owned and democratically controlled by the members it serves, and managed by a nine-member Board of Directors, which is elected by the membership of the Co-op.

Claiborne Electric is divided into nine membership districts. Each year, three districts participate in district elections, and directors serve three-year terms. District elections are held the first Saturday of December each year. Any person who is a member of record and receiving electric service from the Co-op, has the right to participate in electing the Director to represent the district in which the member lives.

Members of the Co-op also have the right to run for election to the Board of Directors. Any three members of a district, acting together, can nominate any member of that district to run for the Board. The nomination must be made and submitted to the Secretary of the Cooperative at least 45 days prior to the District Meeting. A sample nomination form can be found here. The secretary will post the nomination at the Homer and Farmerville offices, per the bylaws.

In the event that more than one member is nominated for the election, a quorum of 100 members must be present at the District Meeting to conduct the election.

For specific information on districts, or specific election rules, please reference Claiborne Electric’s bylaws, which can be read on our Bylaws page. Bylaws pertaining to districts and director elections can be found in Article IV of the bylaws.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo